Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Saturday, July 13, 2024

    Voters on Tuesday to cast ballots in local elections

    Voters will head to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballots in local elections. For full coverage of the races in your town or city, go to https://www.theday.com/section/Election2023.

    East Lyme

    Democrat Dan Cunningham and Republican Anne Santoro, both selectmen, are vying to be the town’s next first selectman. Voters will also elect members to the Board of Selectmen, Board of Finance, Board of Education, Board of Assessment Appeals, Planning Commission, and Zoning Commission. They also will vote on 11 charter revision questions.


    Nineteen candidates are running for nine spots on the Town Council. Five four-year seats and one two-year seat are up for election on the nine-member Board of Education. Voters also will elect Representative Town Meeting members.

    For the first time, city elections are being held in November. All the races ― for city mayor, city council and city clerk ― are uncontested.


    First Selectman David Lahm, a Republican, and Democratic Selectmen John Kiker and Kristina White, a petitioning candidate, are all running uncontested. All other races are uncontested as well, except for the Board of Education race in which Democrat Gavin Lodge is challenging incumbent Republican Mary Powell-St. Louis.


    Leonard Bunnell, a Democrat, and Tom McNally, a Republican, are vying to be mayor, as Mayor Ronald McDaniel retires. Voters will elect a Town Council, among other races. Eleven candidates are running for seven Town Council seats.

    Seven candidates are running for six available seats on the nine-member Board of Education.

    New London

    The city’s mayoral race features Democratic incumbent Michael Passero, who is cross-endorsed by the Working Families Party, Republican Beloved Carter, and Green Party candidate Leon Richard Long.

    Eleven candidates are contending for seven seats on the City Council, while 10 candidates are vying for seven Board of Education seats.


    Eleven candidates are running for six seats on the City Council, while 12 candidates are vying for nine seats on the Board of Education. The race for treasurer is unopposed.

    Norwich voters also will decide two referendum questions: whether to approve $44.75 million for a new police station and an additional $6 million for road and bridge improvements.

    Old Lyme

    Democratic Selectwoman Martha Shoemaker and Republican John Mesham, a retired state trooper, are competing for the first selectman seat. The two other seats on the Board of Selectmen will be filled by the top vote-getters among the two candidates for selectman and the losing first selectman candidate. Voters will also decide on the town treasurer and tax collector and seats on the Board of Finance, Board of Assessment Appeals, Planning Commission, Zoning Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, and Lyme-Old Lyme Board of Education.


    All three selectmen are running unopposed. There are contested races for Board of Education, Board of Finance and other commissions.


    Four candidates ― Forward Party candidate and incumbent Danielle Chesebrough, Republican Bryan Bentz, Democrat Laura Graham and unaffiliated petitioning candidate Michael Spellman ― are competing for the first selectman spot.

    Four candidates ― incumbent Republican Deborah Downie, incumbent Forward Party candidate June Strunk, Democrat Ben Tamsky and unaffiliated petitioning candidate Frank Todisco ― are vying for two seats on the Board of Selectmen. The two highest vote-getters among the four selectman candidates and the three losing first selectman candidates will be elected to the two seats.

    Among the other races, voters will elect three members of the Board of Education and three members of the Board of Finance.


    First Selectman Robert Brule, a Republican, Selectman Greg Attanasio, a Democrat, and Richard Muckle, a Republican, face no challenge in the Board of Selectmen race. Eight candidates are vying for five seats on the nine-member Board of Education. Among other races, voters will elect Representative Town Meeting members.

    Where to vote

    See the list below for where you should cast your ballot.

    Election Day

    Reporters and photographers will be covering the local elections and posting the results on www.theday.com as soon as they're available. Follow The Day reporters covering races Tuesday by using the hashtag #ctelection on X (formerly known as Twitter).


    East Lyme

    District 1: East Lyme High School, 30 Chesterfield Road

    District 2: Niantic Center School, 7 W. Main St.

    District 3: East Lyme Community Center, 41 Society Road


    District 1: Groton Public Library, 52 Newtown Road

    District 2 (city & town elections): Thames River Magnet School, 250 Brandegee Ave.

    District 3 (city & town elections): Groton City Municipal Building, 295 Meridian St.

    District 4: Mary Morrison School Building, 154 Tollgate Road

    District 5: School Administration Building, 1300 Flanders Road

    District 6: Mystic River Magnet School, 160 Fishtown Road

    District 7: Fitch High School, 101 Groton Long Point Road


    Town Hall, 480 Hamburg Road


    District 1 & 3, Town Hall Gymnasium, 310 Norwich New London Turnpike, Uncasville

    District 2 & 5, Mohegan Elementary School, 49 Golden Road, Uncasville

    District 4, Montville Community Center (Fair Oaks School), 836 Old Colchester Rd, Oakdale

    New London

    District 1: Science and Technology Magnet High School, 490 Jefferson Ave.

    District 2: Former Harbor Elementary School, 432 Montauk Ave.

    District 3: Nathan Hale Arts Magnet School, 37 Beech Drive


    Precinct 1: Norwich Worship Center, 165 Lawler Lane

    Precinct 2: Rose City Senior Center, 8 Mahan Drive

    Precinct 3: VFW, Norwich Industrial Park, 30 Connecticut Ave.

    Precinct 4: Beth Jacob Synagogue, 400 New London Turnpike

    Precinct 5: Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church, 247 Washington St.

    Precinct 6: AHEPA, 110 Community Room, 380 Hamilton Ave.

    Old Lyme

    Lyme-Old Lyme Middle School gymnasium, 53 Lyme St.


    Preston Plains Middle School, 1 Route 164


    District 1: Stonington Borough firehouse, 100 Main St.

    District 2: Board of Education District Office (formerly Pawcatuck Middle School), 40 Field St., Pawcatuck

    District 3: Saint Michael’s Church, 60 Liberty St., Pawcatuck

    District 4: Stonington Middle School, 204 Mistuxet Ave., Mystic

    District 5: Former School Administration Building, 49 North Stonington Road, Old Mystic


    District 1: Town Hall, 15 Rope Ferry Road

    District 2: Quaker Hill School, 285 Bloomingdale Road

    District 3: Oswegatchie School, 470 Boston Post Road

    District 4: Great Neck School, 165 Great Neck Road

    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.