Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Tuesday, May 28, 2024

    UPDATED: Reemsnyder loses bid for Old Lyme tax collector post

    Old Lyme ― Former First Selectwoman Bonnie Reemsnyder, who held the town’s top post from 2011 to 2019 and also briefly served as chairwoman of the Connecticut Port Authority, failed in her bid for a four-year term as tax collector Tuesday, losing to Republican Suzanne Thompson, an assistant to the tax collector.

    Unofficial results showed Thompson winning, 1,826 votes to 1,675 votes.

    In the race for town treasurer, Matthew Ward, an unaffiliated voter endorsed by the Republican Party, defeated incumbent Democrat Michael Reiter. Ward is finishing a term as selectman.

    Winning full six-year terms on the Board of Finance were Democrats Anna Reiter and Bennett Bernblum, while Democrats Diane Linderman and Candace Fuchs and Republican Matthew Olson won two-year terms as finance board alternates.

    Democrat Peter Hunt won a four-year term on the Board of Assessment Appeals.

    Democrat Michael Aurelia won a five-year Planning Commission term that begins this year, while Democrat Howard Margules won a five-year term that will begin in 2024.

    Paul Orzel, an unaffiliated incumbent endorsed by both the Democratic and Republican parties, won a five-year Zoning Commission term that starts this year, while Democrat Denise Savageau won a five-year commission term that begins in 2024.

    Democrat Stephanie Mickle won a five-year Zoning Board of Appeals term that begins this year, while Republican Nancy Hutchinson was the only candidate for a five-year term that begins in 2024.

    Winning alternate seats on the Zoning Board of Appeals were Democrats Kathleen Tracy and Michaelle Pearson, and Brian Cole, an unaffiliated candidate whom the Republican Party endorsed.

    Three Democrats won the three Old Lyme seats up for election on the Lyme-Old Lyme school board: Alexander Lowry, W. Scott Brown and Susan Fogliano. Old Lyme has seven of the nine seats on the board, with Lyme filling the other two.


    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.