Local Calendar

BASEBALL/SOFTBALL

CT Bombers softball fall clinic and league — Volunteer Field at Giddings Park, Franklin. For girls in grades 5-8 on Saturday mornings (Sept. 9-Oct. 28) and grades 9-12 on Sundays mornings (Sept. 10-Oct. 29). Contact: Rich Hiscox, (860) 908-0330 or richh32@comcast.net.

Waterford Babe Ruth annual board meeting — Thursday, Sept. 21, 7 p.m., Babe Ruth Field. Accepting nominations and elections will be held for board or directors. Contact: Joe Mariani via email at joe_mariani@ml.com

Groton Babe Ruth annual meeting — Tuesday, Sept. 26, 6 p.m., Groton Public Library. Elections will be held. Contact: Heather Cobb, (860) 912-7196.

Strength and conditioning — For baseball and softball for all ages at The Pit in Niantic. Free trial sessions Sept. 25-29. Classes begin Oct. 3. Contact: Pithitting.com or (860) 451-8222.

Fall baseball teams — Team Connecticut Baseball and Shoreline Baseball Academy are offering Fall Transitional Baseball teams for 9U-12U players. Play begins in September and runs for seven weekends and includes instruction, individual team instruction, games and tournaments. Contact: shorelinebaseball.com, teamconnecticutbaseball.com

CT Hurricanes baseball tryouts — Oct. 21 at Dodd Stadium in Norwich from 4-6 p.m. Contact: Scott Chiasson, ctcanesbaseball@gmail.com

CT Nationals fall ball — Program is accepting registration for baseball teams (14U, 12U, 10U) and softball teams (14U, 12U). Contact: pithitting@gmail.com

Fall baseball — The CT Heat are looking for players ages 14-16. Contact: (860) 449-4052.

CT Challengers softball — Tryouts for for 14U and 16U fall ball teams. Contact: Randy Ortiz, ctchallengers2011@gmail.com, (860) 942-3829.

Hammerheads baseball — Looking for players for 10U, 11U, 14U and 15U teams. Contact: Steve Bray, sbray22@gmail.com, (203) 980-9710.

CT Crush softball — Evaluations for 14U, 12U and 10U players. Email grandslam.ct@gmail.com for an evaluation.

CT Clippers baseball — Evaluations for 18U players. Email grandslam.ct@gmail.com for an evaluation.

Shore Sting White 14u softball — Need two players to round out roster. Interested players must be age 14 as of Jan. 1, 2017. Contacts: David Gage via text at (860) 227-0085 or Ed Hobson via email at Hobson@comcast.net or call (203) 530-3964.



GOLF

12th annual Catholic Charities tournament — Wednesday, Sept. 20, Fox Hopyard Golf Club. Registration begins at 10:30 a.m., lunch at 11:30, shotgun start at 1 p.m. Cost: $175 per golfer. Contact: Christine Jackel, cjackel@norwichdiocese.net, (860) 886-1928, ext. 12.

14th annual Enders Island Classic — Thursday, Sept. 28, Elmridge Golf Course. Shotgun start at noon. Cost: $150 per golfer. Contact: Deb Neuman, (860) 536-0565.

READER COMMENTS

Loading comments...
Hide Comments