CIAC Scholar-Athletes to be honored Sunday at Aqua Turf

Cheshire The annual Connecticut Interscholastic Athletic Conference High School Scholar-Athlete Banquet will take place at 5 p.m. Sunday at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington.

The Scholar-Athlete program annually recognizes two high school seniors, one boy and one girl, from each member high school whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary, whose personal standards and achievements are a model to others and who possess high levels of integrity, self-discipline and courage.

Local athletes being honored are:

Bacon Academy, Paul Esteve, Lydia Krause; East Lyme, Jeff Schumacher, Maddy McDermott; Fitch, Charlie Young, Renee Harms; Grasso Tech, Eduardo Aguilar, Melissa Dolzenchuk; Griswold, Brandon Walsh, Samantha Rentz; Holy Family, Micala Smith; Ledyard, Zach Ash, Cedar Nelson; Lyman Memorial, Ben Strenkowski, Alyson Tacchi.

Also, Montville, Matt Navetta, Kim Bigelow; New London, Patrick Hanrahan, Jessica Fort; Norwich Free Academy, Dan Cardin, Anna Kudej; Norwich Tech, Michael O'Connor, Nicole Gressly; Old Lyme, Nick Bellas, Kaitlyn Mueller; Old Saybrook, Spencer Arbige, Alexis Henry; St. Bernard, Jeff Merlo, Tara Kowalski; Stonington, Alex Schroeder, Amy Manning; Waterford, Daniel Getty, Kierstyn Smith; and Wheeler, Trevor Stefanski, Ashley Iorio.

Approximately 1,700 people are expected to attend the event, where a total of 343 students are being honored.

In addition to the scholar-athletes, Darien golfer James Burgoyne will also be honored. Burgoyne spearheaded the first high school implementation of the PGA Tour's "Birdies For The Brave" program, raising more than $3,500 for the families of servicemen and servicewomen stationed overseas, and will receive the Michael Savage Spirit of Sport Award.

Meghan Pattyson-Culmo, a former UConn women's basketball player and assistant coach and current announcer for CPTV, will be the keynote speaker.

For more information contact Stephanie Ford at (203) 250-1111 or


Loading comments...
Hide Comments