Naval Submarine School graduates two classes June 14

Groton — Two classes graduated from the Naval Submarine School on Friday, June 14.

Eighty-four officers, “Class 13040,” graduated from the Submarine Officer Basic Course. Ensign Nathan Erxlebelen, the honor graduate, received the L. Y. Spear Award. Ensign Paul Gale received the Admiral Andrew I. McKee Award and Ensign Michael Moberg received the Naval Submarine League Tactical Excellence Award.

Seventy-one sailors of “Class 13280,” USS New Hampshire (SSN-778), graduated from Basic Enlisted Submarine School. Seaman Matthew Newman was the class honorman. Seaman Apprentice David Merville was meritoriously advanced. Machinist’s Mate Third Class Michael Cuevas, the class leader, received the Submarine Heritage Award and Seaman Apprentice Jacob Sorenson received the Navy Core Values Award.

Cuevas, Sorenson, Merville, Fireman Apprentice Tyler Heckman, Aviation Maintenance Administrationman Second Class Matthew Clevette, Seaman Robert Fryar, Fireman Recruit Joshua Sirois, Seaman Apprentice Justin Phillips, Fireman Apprentice Niklaus Roberts, Seaman Alex Parsons, Seaman Apprentice James Stahl, Seaman Daniel Neri, Seaman Gregory Doerr, Seaman Joshua Hogan, Machinist’s Mate Second Class Donald Summerhill, Seaman Apprentice Riley Roppe, Seaman Apprentice  Jordan Chianese and Fireman Recruit Nathan Weissler were named graduates with distinction.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments