Hackett, Dearborn are first-time winners at Kelley Race

New London – On a day the defending men’s and women’s champions were both unseated, Everett Hackett of West Hartford won the 51st Annual Ocean Beach/John & Jessie Kelley 11.6-Mile Road Race, finishing in 59 minutes, 36 seconds.

Ledyard’s Jeff Wadecki was second (1:01:59), followed by Michael Conway of West Hartford (1:02.50) and defending champion Michael LeDuc of Canton, entering his senior year at Connecticut College (1:03.50).

In the women’s division, Krisztina Dearborn of New Britain was first in 1:10.25. Sybil Shapiro of Clinton was second (1:11.31) and Laura Brustolon of Mystic, bidding for her fifth straight women’s crown, was third (1:11.56).

Amby Burfoot of Mystic, a former Boston Marathon champion, as was Kelley, also ran the race. He holds the record for victories in the Kelley Race with five, the last coming in 1978.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments