Two local subs win Battle Efficiency competition

Groton — Two local submarines won the 2013 Battle Efficiency competition on Wednesday, Jan. 1.

One submarine from each squadron in the Atlantic Fleet is recognized every year, with the Battle “E” presented to the submarine crew that demonstrated the highest level of battle readiness during the evaluation year.

The winners are: USS Missouri (SSN 780), of Submarine Squadron 4, commanded by Cmdr. Michael Luckett, and USS Dallas (SSN 700), of Submarine Development Squadron 12, commanded by Cmdr. Jack Houdeshell.

“The competition for these honors is always extremely keen, and being the recipient of the Battle E should be a source of great pride to each and every crew member,” said Vice Adm. Michael J. Connor, commander of the submarine force.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments