Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Norwich receives certification by Sustainable CT

Norwich — Norwich is among the 32 Connecticut municipalities, including six others in southeastern Connecticut, to be recognized for achieving certification as a Sustainable CT community.

Norwich is one of 23 municipalities to meet high standards in a broad range of accomplishments to qualify for the prestigious Bronze certification. Nine others met the level for silver certification.

Sustainable CT, is a statewide initiative that inspires and supports communities in becoming more efficient, resilient, and inclusive, it said in announcing its 2019 certified communities.

In its application for Sustainable CT certification, Norwich demonstrated significant achievements in nine sustainable impact areas, ranging from inclusive community building, thriving local economies and vibrant arts and culture to clean transportation and diverse housing.

Certification lasts three years. Collectively, 47 municipalities, more than 27 percent of the state’s communities, have earned Sustainable CT certification and include some of Connecticut’s largest cities and smallest towns.

“Congratulations to our 2019 certified Sustainable CT communities,” Executive Director Lynn Stoddard said in a news release announcing the certifications at Eastern Connecticut State University, which administers the program. “We are inspired by your leadership and eager to share your accomplishments in building efficient, thriving, and resilient communities.”

Sustainable CT is managed under the leadership of the Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut and is funded by the the Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation, the Common Sense Fund, and the Smart Seed Fund.

The newly certified municipalities, which also include North Stonington, East Lyme, Groton, New London, Old Saybrook and Waterford, will be recognized Dec. 3 at the annual convention of the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities.

For more information, go to


Loading comments...
Hide Comments