Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Sun's Jones earns All-WNBA First Team honors

Connecticut Sun forward Jonquel Jones earned her first All-WNBA First Team honor Friday as the only unanimous selection.

Jones, who won her first WNBA MVP honor this season, received 49 First-Team votes, as chosen by a national panel of sportswriters and broadcaster. Jones is a two-time Second Team pick.

Jones averaged 19.4 points, 11.2 rebounds, 1.26 blocked shots and 1.26 steals this year to help the Sun to their most successful regular season in franchise history. They finished with the highest winning percentage in franchise history (.813), the fewest losses in franchise history (a 26-6 record), and had a franchise-record 14-game winning streak, the fourth longest in league history.

Center Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury, forward Breanna Stewart and guards Jewell Loyd (Seattle Storm) and Skylar Diggins-Smith (Phoenix Mercury) were all chosen to the First Team.

Center Sylvia Fowles (Minnesota Lynx), forwards Tina Charles (Washington Mystics) and A'ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces) and guards Arike Ogunbowale (Dallas Wings) and Courtney Vandersloot (Chicago Sky) make up the Second Team.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments