Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

Four Straight

It won’t always be like this.

The University of Connecticut’s women’s basketball team has made the improbable — a fourth straight national championship Tuesday and 11th in the program’s history — seem downright routine. Great recruiting and superior coaching of that talent by Geno Auriemma produced yet another squad that had no collegiate equal.

There was UConn and there was everyone else.

The Huskies breezed through the NCAA tournament, blowing out its six opponents, culminating with an 82-51 win over Syracuse University. UConn’s top three players — seniors Breanna Stewart, Moriah Jefferson and Morgan Tuck — will be among the first few players selected in the WNBA draft. This was an All-Star team. The senior class walked away with four national championships. That never happened before.

While the games lacked drama, watching the UConn women execute was a treat for those who love the beauty of the game. Their fast-break ability was stunning, their ball movement artistic, their defense tenacious, and the superior athleticism of its top players undeniable.

No matter what the lopsided score, they kept working, a trademark of Auriemma teams.

The champions finished 38-0. UConn has won 75 straight. Is this team the best? Perhaps, though one can make a good argument for the 39-0 team of 2002 that sent seven players to the WNBA — Swin Cash, Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Asjha Jones, Ashley Battle, Jessica Moore and Tamika Williams.

In time, other programs will catch up. Auriemma can’t coach forever. Appreciate it while it lasts, UConn fans.


The Day editorial board meets regularly with political, business and community leaders and convenes weekly to formulate editorial viewpoints. It is composed of President and Publisher Tim Dwyer, Editorial Page Editor Paul Choiniere, Managing Editor Tim Cotter, Staff Writer Julia Bergman and retired deputy managing editor Lisa McGinley. However, only the publisher and editorial page editor are responsible for developing the editorial opinions. The board operates independently from the Day newsroom.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments