Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

Mark Brown not re-elected to Mohegan Tribal Council

Mohegan — Two incumbents seeking re-election to the Mohegan Tribal Council fell short in voting that concluded Sunday, sources told The Day.

Mark Brown, the council’s longest-serving member, failed to win re-election, as did Joe Smith, sources said.

Elected were incumbent Thayne Hutchins Jr. and newcomers Joseph Soper, John Harris and Patricia LaPierre, sources said.

Brown, the brother of former Chairman Kevin Brown, who resigned from the council in July, declined to comment on Sunday’s results. He has continuously served on the council since 1995, including a stint as chairman from 2000 to 2005, a period of major expansion at Mohegan Sun, the tribe’s flagship casino.

Voting had taken place by secret ballot over the past several weeks.

The tribe will conduct a special election to fill the seat left vacant by Kevin Brown’s resignation. In addition to the vacant seat, four others on the nine-member council were not up for election. The seats are held by James Gessner Jr., the interim chairman; Kathy Regan-Pyne; William Quidgeon Jr.; and Sarah Harris.

-- Brian Hallenbeck


Loading comments...
Hide Comments