Support Local News.

At a moment of historic disruption and change with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the calls for social and racial justice and the upcoming local and national elections, there's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Rhode Island removed from travel advisory

Rhode Island has been removed from the list of states on Connecticut’s COVID-19 travel advisory.

Alaska, New Mexico and Ohio also have been removed from the list, while Hawaii, South Dakota and the Virgin Islands have been added. The list of states considered to be “hot spots” of the virus now includes 32 states and two U.S. territories. Travelers entering Connecticut from states and territories on the list are required to self-quarantine for 14 days.

State officials said Washington state, which is on the list, is currently under review and that its status could change.

Rhode Island had been added to the list a week ago after its COVID-19 infection rate rose above a threshold. Its rate has since declined.

The 17 states that are not on the list are: Alaska, Colorado, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia and Wyoming.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments
Stay up to date with The Day's breaking coronavirus coverage
Sign up to receive our daily coronavirus newsletter

All of our stories about the coronavirus are being provided free of charge as a service to the public. You can find all of our stories here.

You can support local journalism by subscribing to The Day.