Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Thursday, June 13, 2024

    Both parties endorse Chesebrough for Stonington first selectman

    Stonington — Unaffiliated First Selectwoman Danielle Chesebrough will run unopposed for reelection this November after she was  endorsed by both the Democratic and Republican town committees Thursday night.

    The makeup of the rest of the Board of Selectmen will remain unchanged as well, as the Democrats endorsed incumbent June Strunk and the Republicans endorsed Deborah Downie. The town charter calls for the two top vote-getters between the two selectmen and the losing first selectman candidate to fill the two available seats on the three-person Board of Selectmen, along with the new first selectman. But in this case, there will be no losing first selectman candidate.  

    When informed of the Republican endorsement by a vote of 21-4 Thursday night, Chesebrough said that it shows the two parties can work together for the common good, particularly on the local level. The Democrats also had endorsed her in 2019.  

    In endorsing Chesebrough on Thursday night, Democratic Town Committee Chairman Tim O'Brien said Chesebrough had "done an exceedingly good job in tough and trying times."

    At the Republican meeting, town committee member Alexa Garvey rattled off a long list of Chesebrough's accomplishments in her first term, saying she "demonstrated great leadership during the pandemic."  

    Both parties endorsed incumbent Republican Linda Camelio for tax collector and Democrat Sally Duplice for town clerk. Duplice is currently an assistant to Town Clerk Cindy Ladwig, who is retiring.

    With four positions open on the Board of Education, the Democrats endorsed Chris Donahue, Sara Baker and Dan Kelley, while the Republicans endorsed Kevin Agnello, Nick Tedwell and Jan MacGregor.

    Four positions also are open on the Board of Finance. The Democrats endorsed incumbents O'Brien and Mike Fauerbach, along with Independent Party member Chris Johnson III. The Republicans endorsed incumbent Glenn Frishman and Faith Leitner. Both parties endorsed unaffiliated incumbent Lynn Young.

    The Democrats endorsed incumbent Sandy Grimes for treasurer and the Republicans endorsed Jill Beaudoin.


    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.