Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Waterford's candidates announced for November elections

Waterford — The town has a lengthy list of Republicans and Democrats running in the November election, with a few young faces on the ballot.

The Democrat Town Committee endorsed 30 candidates Sunday night, and the Republican caucus adjourned a meeting Tuesday night to announce 27 candidates altogether running for Board of Finance, Board of Education, Board of Assessment Appeals, Zoning Board of Appeals and Representative Town Meetings.

"Couldn't be happier with the candidates we are putting forward this fall," said Cathy Barnard, the town's Democratic committee chairwoman. "A nice mixture of incumbents, folks who have served in office before, and folks who have never run before — including myself."

She said the candidates are eager to share ideas on economic development, government transparency and all issues concerning the people of Waterford.

"This is a very professional and diversified Republican team," Republican committee Chairwoman Kathleen McCarty said. "There are educators, attorneys, business owners, medical professionals, environmentalists, fire chiefs and engineers, to name just a few professions on the Republican slate."

McCarty, who is not running herself, said she is looking forward to working with the candidates. She said the party is committed to lowering taxes, supporting high-quality education, expanding economic interests, preserving open space and working as a team for the well-being of the town's residents.

Each party is allowed to run a maximum of four or five candidates for Representative Town Meeting in each of the town's four voting districts. Among them are a few young people.

David Sugrue and Eddie Aledia are the two youngest Republican candidates running for local office for the first time.

As a 9-year-old boy, Sugrue said he wanted to one day be the president of the United States. Now turning 19 and on the Republican slate, he is running in District 4 for an RTM seat. He said he thinks the town is being served by good people and he wants to help, contributing with his own ideas to continue investing in schools and fostering the arts in the community.

Aledia, 21, is running in District 2 and has been involved with politics since 2018, serving once as campaign manager for First Selectman Rob Brule. Aledia said he wants to take back Republican control of District 2, the only district in Waterford with a Republican minority.

Democrat Jennifer "Jenny" Kohl, who turns 24 in August, also is running for the first time. Having just attained her master's degree at the University of Connecticut in social work and community engagement, she said this felt like a good time to run.

"The work starts at a local level," said Kohl, who vows to advocate for conservation and protecting waterways as an RTM member from District 3.

Republican slate

Board of Finance nominees include incumbents Tali Maidelis and Robert Tuneski running to fill a two-year vacancy, incumbent Ron Fedor, and Edward Lusher.

Board of Education nominees are Kathleen Elbaum and incumbent Chris Jones.

In the run for RTM in District 1 are Richard Holmes and incumbents Timothy Codon, Danielle-Steward Gelinas and Robert Swansen. In District 2, all nominees are newcomers: Eddie Aledia, Kevin Girard, Dave Welch and Craig Hart. District 3 nominees are Ryan Healy, former RTM member Steve Garvin and incumbents Jennifer Antonino-Bracciale, Paul Goldstein and Richard Muckle. District 4 nominees are David Sugrue and incumbents Michael Bono, Thomas Dembeck and Michael Rocchetti.

Lee Couture is running for Board of Assessment Appeals and incumbent Anne Darling is running for Board of Appeals. The alternate candidates to Board of Appeals are Greg Gallup and Krum Chuchev.

Democrat slate

Board of Finance nominees include Joe Filippetti, David Peabody, Baird Welch-Collins and incumbent Glenn Patterson.

Board of Education nominees are Laurie Wolfley, Bill Collins and longtime incumbents Joy Gaughan and Deb Roselli Kelly.

Running for RTM in District 1 are Paul Konstantakis, Bud Bray, Cheryl Robinson Larder and incumbent Nick Gauthier. The District 2 nominees include Mary Childs, Kristen Gonzalez, and incumbents, Greg Attanasio and Ted Olynciw. In the run for District 3, are candidates Jenny Kohl, Cathy Barnard, Abbie Dahl and incumbents Kathy Kohl and Tim Fioravanti. District 4 nominees are Grace Kyne, Ocean Pellett and incumbents Susan Driscoll and Dan Radin.

Newcomers Mike Buscetto and Marianna McGuirk are running for Board of Assessment Appeals; Michele Kripps and John Morgan are running for Zoning Board of Appeals. Bill Herzfeld is the alternate candidate for Zoning Board of Appeals.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments