Support Local News.

Please support our work by subscribing today.

Local roundup: Norwich Legion rallies for 9-8 win over Tri-Town

Norwich — Jason Wedge singled home the winning run in the bottom of the seventh as Norwich scored two runs in its final at bat to defeat Tri-Town 9-8 in an American Legion Zone VI baseball game on Monday night at Dickenman Field.

Elliot Johnson, Ryan Trudeau, Jack Savage and Ty Pomroy had two hits apiece for Norwich with Trudeau also driving in a pair of runs with a sacrifice fly in the fifth inning that tied the game at 7-7.

In other games:

• Connor Rowe went 3-for-5 as Waterford cruised to a 13-3 victory over Danielson. Preston Tabor added a solo home run and walked three times for Waterford while Conner Rowe, Aiden Whitten and Sean Salvador added two hits apiece. Salvador was the winning pitching, allowing four hits while striking out seven over five innings.

District 10 LL softball (10-12)

• Salem/Montville defeated Stonington 9-4 as pitchers Natalie Lutyen and Abby Daniewicz combine for the win and Lauren Gault went 2-for-2 with a double, triple and three RBI. Sarah Slitt had two hits for Stonington.

Potvin scholarships

• The Christopher Potvin Scholarship Fund has announced the names of a record 56 scholar-athletes who will each receive a $1,000 award at the organization's annual banquet Aug. 7 at Langley's.

Recipients are: Julia Beaupre (Montville), Mason Bordeau (NFA), Sam Blumberger (Bacon Academy), Jackson Brenek (St. Bernard), Maddie Burrows (Waterford), John Cannella (Stonington), Nora Casey (Fitch), Katelyn Cervini (Fitch), Mia Chiappone (Waterford), Mason Concascia (Waterford), James Creagan (Old Lyme), Hannah Daniewicz (NFA), Billy deCastro (Stonington), Anna Donahue (Waterford), Connor Doran (Ledyard), Jordan Elci (Waterford), Victoria Gage (Old Lyme), Zachary Gamble (Waterford), Anthony Gesino (East Lyme), Isabella Gesino (East Lyme), Evan Gilgenbach (Griswold), Nolan Gollsneider (Waterford), Ryleigh Hall (Bristol Central), Elizabeth Hannaford (St. Bernard), Katherine Harren (Ledyard), Tyler Ingemi (Waterford), Rachel Klinefelter (Montville) and Madelyn Koning (Montville).

Also, Felse Kyle (Old Lyme), Erin Londregan (St. Bernard), Tim Lynch (Fitch), Reese Maguire (Old Lyme), Jordan Malloy (Bacon Academy), Emma Marelli (Waterford), Abby Maynard (Waterford), James Mazzalupo (Old Lyme), Evan McCue (Waterford), Baxter Menzies (Stonington), Andrew Navickus (Bacon Academy), Jack Nystrom (Fitch), Riley Nystrom (Fitch), Jesse Oloski (East Lyme), Ryan Orr (Stonington), Isabelle Papuga (East Lyme), Matt Pierce (Wheeler), Connor Powell (Hand), Nora Richmond (Montville), George Rodgers (Stonington), Justin Saad (Waterford), Tate Scherer (Fitch), Anne Seltzer (Waterford), Maddie Southers (Fitch), Maverick Swaney (Old Lyme), Will Sutman (Waterford), Preston Tabor (Marine Science) and Sachi Vora (East Lyme).


Loading comments...
Hide Comments