Support Local News.

Please support our work by subscribing today.

UConn names honorary coaches for Saturday’s Blue-White spring game

UConn, which plays its annual Blue-White spring football game on Saturday at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, has invited four former captains to serve as honorary coaches.

Matt DeGennaro and Mike Rembish will coach with the Blue team and Sean Mulcahy and Uyi Osunde will work with the White team in the game, which will kick off at 5 p.m., and is free to the public.

DeGennaro and Rembish were captains in 1990 while Mulcahy and Osunde led the Huskies in 2003.

DeGennaro, a quarterback who led UConn to a share of the Yankee Conference title in 1989, was the 1987 YanCon Rookie of the Year and the 1988 Offensive Player of the Year. Rembish, a defensive lineman, was second team All-YanCon in 1990.

Mulcahy and Osundi were both defensive linemen during UConn transition into to FBS ranks. Mulcahy, from Westport, started 37 straight games while Osunde, form Bloomsburg, Pa., had 22.5 career sacks.

Osundi, a former guidance counselor and assistant coach at New London High School, is currently a guidance counselor at East Hartford High.

- Chuck Banning


Loading comments...
Hide Comments