Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Tribal council elects Steven Thomas treasurer

Get the weekly rundown
Sign up to receive our weekly BizBuzz newsletter

Mashantucket - Steven Thomas, a member of the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Council since 2010, has been named council treasurer.

Council members chose Thomas this week during a private meeting at which council members elected in November took an oath of office.

Thomas, 37, is the younger brother of former council Chairman Michael Thomas, who lost a bid to return to the council in November.

As treasurer, Steven Thomas succeeds former Councilor James Jackson, who failed to win re-election in November.

Council Chairman Rodney Butler announced Thomas' election as treasurer in an email to tribal members late Friday afternoon.

Thomas, who chairs the council's housing and finance committees, also has served on its natural resources and community planning committees. The extent of his training and experience in the field of finance was not immediately known.

The tribe's bylaws state: "The Treasurer shall be the custodian of all funds in possession of the Tribe from any source. He/she shall keep an accurate record of all funds and shall disburse the same in accordance with the vote of the Tribal Council. He/she shall keep all Tribal money entrusted to his/her care as a special account."

In addition to governing the tribe, the council oversees the management of the tribe-owned Foxwoods Resort Casino, including MGM Grand at Foxwoods.

Councilors Roy Colebut-Ingram Sr. and Steven Colebut, the top vote-getters among a field of 12 candidates in the November election, were sworn in at this week's meeting.

Colebut-Ingram is the executive director of advertising for the tribe's Foxwoods Resort Casino. The tribe has provided no biographical information about him or Colebut.

Other members of the seven-member council are Vice Chairwoman Fatima Dames, Secretary Marjorie Colebut-Jackson and Crystal Whipple.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments