Salem Republicans put Democrat, unaffiliated candidates on slate

Salem - The Republican Town Committee has endorsed 24 candidates for office with a slate that includes one Democrat and several unaffiliated candidates.

The Republicans endorsed incumbent First Selectmen Kevin Lyden, an unaffiliated candidate who also was endorsed by the Democrats last week, for another term. Lyden is finishing his second term as first selectman and was nominated by both major parties in the last two elections.

For the Board of Selectmen, the party endorsed incumbent Bob Ross as well as Republican Town Committee Chairman Ed Chmielewski.

Ross, an unaffiliated candidate and former first selectman, was also endorsed by the Democrats. Chmielewski is a former Board of Education member and the committee chairman for Salem Boy Scout Troop 123. He will be running against Robyn McKenney, an incumbent Democrat, for a spot on the board.

The party endorsed Board of Education Chairman Stephen Buck and Secretary Pamela Munro for re-election to the school board.

The committee endorsed Deputy Town Clerk Linda Flugrad to run for town clerk.

An unaffiliated candidate, Brenda Sutton, was endorsed by the Republicans for town treasurer. In another cross-endorsement, the Republicans nominated Cheryl Philopena, a Democrat, for another term as tax collector.

The committee endorsed Board of Finance incumbent Greg Preston for re-election. Dave Kennedy, who is an alternate on that board, was endorsed for a full term. The Republicans nominated Robert Sartori as a Board of Finance alternate.

Current Board of Assessment Appeals Chairman Robert Green was endorsed for another term.

Republicans nominated Ronald LaBonte, Hernan Salas and Joseph Duncan, all newcomers, for the Planning and Zoning Commission. They endorsed John Gadbois and unaffiliated candidate Eric Wenzel for alternates on that commission.

For the Zoning Board of Appeals, the commission selected Terri Salas, Ken Bondi and Denise Orsini. Dave Williams and Gary Closius were nominated as alternates for the board.

Wendy Ortega, who is unaffiliated, and Susan Buck were endorsed for the Library Board of Trustees.

- Kelly Catalfamo


Loading comments...
Hide Comments