Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Republicans win most races in Old Lyme

Old Lyme — Republicans swept most of the races in Tuesday's municipal election.

Voters ousted Jane Cable, Democratic chairwoman of the Zoning Commission, who had been challenged due to an unpopular proposal requiring a larger setback for homes along tidal waters. Republican Mike Miller, an attorney, defeated her 1,609-1,366.

Zoning Board of Appeals Chairwoman Nancy Hutchinson, who is unaffiliated but endorsed by the Republican Town Committee, defeated Democratic challenger Mara Lowry, 1,616-1,357. 

Democrat Kathleen Tracy, a Sound View resident who had sued the Miami Beach Association over a fence that was erected between the two beaches, lost her bid for election to Republican Stephen Dix.

Republican Tammy Tinnerello defeated Democrat Harvey Gemme for a seat on the Zoning Commission, 1,721 to 1,267.

Republican newcomers Suzanne S. Thompson, Jennifer Miller and Steven J. Wilson were elected to the Board of Education.

Republican Timothy Griswold, who was serving as the town's treasurer before deciding to challenge Democratic incumbent Bonnie Reemsnyder for the first selectman's seat, garnered the most votes for treasurer. He was elected first selectman and will be resigning from the treasurer seat immediately. His Democratic opponent, Michael Reiter, will be seated.

Board of Finance winners Tuesday were Janet G. Sturges and J. David Kelsey, both incumbents. Republicans Judith Read and Matthew Olson were elected as Board of Finance alternates, along with Democrat Adam S. Burrows.

Longtime Republican tax collector Judith Tooker won re-election over her Democratic opponent Sarah Michaelson, 1,905-1,262.

David W. Evers, Jr., a Republican, was unopposed and won a seat on the Board of Assessment Appeals. Republicans Steven A. Ross and Harold Thompson both kept their seats on the Planning Commission.

Editor's Note: Nancy Hutchinson is an unaffiliated voter who was endorsed by the Republican Town Committee.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments