Memories: The Franklin Square water trough
The iconic Franklin Square water trough. Built in 1889 to supply water to horses, it also illuminated Franklin Square at night. It was moved to the intersection of Washington Street and Broadway, at the north corner of Chelsea Parade, sometime after trolleys and automobiles came along. Today it is cared for by the Norwich Women’s City Club.
Ken Keeley is the author of numerous pictorial history books of Norwich, New London, Taftville, The Norwich Rose Arts Festival, and the History of the Norwich Little League & Farm System - 1950-1975. His books are available for sale at La Stella’s Italian Bakery in Taftville, La Stella’s Pizzeria in downtown Norwich, and the Backus Hospital Gift Shop.