Petitioning candidates added to New London election slates

New London - Two petitioning candidates have been added to the City Council and Board of Education slates for the Nov. 5 election.

Carl Lee will be on the ballot as a petitioning candidate for City Council. Jason Morris, who collected more than the required 49 signatures, will be added to the ballot for school board.

Meanwhile, John Russell, a former city councilor who also successfully gathered signatures to get on the ballot as a petitioning candidate for City Council, has withdrawn from the race.

Lee will be up against Democratic council incumbents Wade Hyslop, Anthony Nolan, Michael Passero, and newcomers Efrain Dominguez, Laura Natusch, Erica Richardson and former City Clerk Michael Tranchida. Council candidates endorsed by the Republican Town Committee include incumbent Democrat Marie Friess-McSparran, and Dennis Downing, Keith Robbins, Katelin Teel, Mike Doyle and Bill Vogel.

Republican Martin Olsen, a former city councilor who was not endorsed by the GOP but who gathered enough signatures to force a primary, will now be part of the Republican slate after Gordon Videll withdrew from the ticket two weeks ago.

Republican candidates for school board are Jason Catala, an incumbent, and Casey Giesing and Mirna Martinez.

Democratic candidates for school board are incumbents Margaret Curtin, Elizabeth Garcia-Gonzalez and Sylvia Potter, as well as Reona Dyess, Robert Funk, Scott Garbini and Arcelis Vazquez.

All seats are for two-year terms.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments